

NSW Association of Fire Investigators Inc Annual General Meeting Thursday, 2 August 2018 Ryde Eastwood Leagues Club, Ryedale Rd, West Ryde.

Meeting Opened. 18:40 Bob McKay chairing the meeting

Present.

Taylor Pallaton, Paul Sweeney, Mac de la Hunty, Bob McKay, Michael Forbes, Mark Pellegrino, Alex Visotin, Jonathan Gauci, Neville Wearne, David P. Walker, Peter Jones, David Tandy, Brendan Halliburton, Steve Perkins, Grant Gatland, David O'Brien, Sonia Scott, Ellie Johnston, Barry Sutherland, Linda Bottin, Craig Gilpin, Rick Miller

Apologies.

Jim Munday, Stewart Farleigh, Jason Taylor, Wayne Schweickle

Minutes.

Moved: Acceptance of the minutes of the previous AGM

Moved – Michael Forbes Second – Barry Sutherland Vote: CARRIED

Correspondence.

There was no correspondence to report.

President's Report.

Michael Forbes reported the NSWAFI had an excellent previous year.

The Court Room Testimony Course was held but sustained a loss. Michael said despite the loss the NSWAFI was in a position to sustain this loss, due to the profit obtained from the 2016 AAFI Conference, hosted by the NSWAFI.

Michael reported membership over the past 12 months had increased to 145 members.

Michael also reported that the Facebook Page was going well and that the NSWAFI were now broadcasting the Education Nights live to Facebook via streaming, which has been very well accepted.

Michael said the Ross Brogan Scholarship was not in operation and the NSWAFI were seeking Applications from memberships wishing to apply for the scholarship.

Michael reminded all that the 2018 AAFI Conference was being hosted by VAFI and held at Bendigo, with the theme of Wild Fires and there will be a live burn. He also mentioned that the Early Bird Registrations close on 17 August, 2018. This has now been extended to 15 September, 2018.

A motion was put to accept the President's Report

Moved – Barry Sutherland Second – Neville Wearne

Vote: CARRIED

Treasurer's report.

Taylor Pallaton presented the treasurer's report. In summary, Taylor reported that the NSWAFI currently has \$33,436.99 in the Bank at the moment.

A motion was put to accept the Treasurer's Report

Moved – Mark Pellegrino Second – Michael Forbes

Vote: CARRIED

General Business.

There was no general business.

Election.

Bob McKay reported that nominations for the 2018-2019 Committee had been received. Bob called for nominations from the floor and there were none

Michael Forbes declared all positions vacant. Bob reported that there was one nomination for each of the Executive and five ordinary committee members. The election was carried out with the following results:

President: Michael Forbes (unopposed)

Senior VP & Web Master & Merchandising Office: Alex Visotin (unopposed)

Junior VP: Barry Sutherland (unopposed) Treasurer: Taylor Pallaton (unopposed) Secretary: Bob McKay (unopposed)

IAAI Liaison: Michael Forbes (unopposed)

Committee: Mark Pellegrino – Education Officer, Sonia Scott, Jason Taylor, Wayne Schweickle, Steve Apps

Meeting closed at 18:55.

Bob McKay Secretary.